So I’m actually a nerd, who also loves biking. You know who else was? That’s right, this guy.

"I thought of that while riding my bicycle." - Albert Einstein

One of my nerd habits has always been hanging out in libraries, used book stores, and searching through antique photos and magazines. I love just looking at pictures and articles from the olden days. These are some photos from the New York World’s Fair of 1939 – 1940, from a show called American Jubilee.

'merica + Bikes = F*CK Yeah!

The show was a production involving a great deal of people from the Broadway crowd. There were many collaborators for music, but also performances. These performances also included.. BIKES.

Ride that thing!

This chick’s name is Tina Rigat. There’s not much to be found about her, other than this legendary description:

“Tiny Tina Rigat, star trick bicycle performer at the American Jubilee, hit show of the Great White Way, at the World’s Fair of New York 1940.”

I’ve serached in vain for film clips of this show, or musical excerpts to no avail. There is however, more photographs, think: Bike Musical. I would go see this today. It’s like synchronized biking, which I will touch on in another post in the future.

...1

...2

...3 ... GO!

And I just like this song.

